Archive for the ‘ AFRO-JAZZ ’ Category

Rich Medina & Bobbito present The Connection Vol.1 (WEB) (2009)

The Connection: Modern Explorations In Afro-Beat & Afro- Latin is the vision of Rich Medina and Bobbito Garcia. The two are considered amongst the worldÃ?s most progressive club DJs, having provided Hip Hop, Dance, and Rare Groove to dancers for 40+ years combined.

In the last decade, they have each fostered intense followings for specific genres and sounds. In Big Richs case, its been Afro Beat/Funk/Jazz and World Soul. The multi-talented poet/producer/songwriters eight-year-old JUMP N FUNK Fela Kuti Tribute Party is widely recognized as the very best of its kind, as he has at times carried that movement on his back and been largely responsible for the current revival of the original Black President. Similarly, Hip Hop radio legend and former Vibe Magazine columnist Kool Bob Loves mission has been to expose rare Latin Jazz/Funk/Soul/Breaks at his award-winning VINYL IS FOREVER monthly at APT (NYC), as well as at the bi-coastal FANIA RECORDS TRIBUTE annual gigs.

Close friends since 1990, Rich and Bob started spinning together in 97, and have branded their musical journeys at their HAPPY FEET party to the great pleasure of crowds worldwide. An inspired competition exists between them to outdo the other by introducing underexposed tunes. The Connection allows for others to share that joy that goes on in their DJ booth. This compilation represents their passion for the rhythm that runs through us all, as well as the respect and love they have for each other. We hope that it connects you to your ancestors, or maybe just neighbors across the street, and way beyond


R2 RECORDS. 2009…

– CD 1 –
1. AIFF ÒLet It RollÓ
2. Ruth Tafebe And The Afrorockerz ÒCelebrateÓ
3. Fanga ÒKelenÓ
4. Franck Biyong & The Afrolectric Orkestra feat. Melissa James ÒWe Shall OvercomeÓ
5. Raw Artistic Soul feat. Wunmi ÒOya OÓ
6. Souljazz Orchestra ÒMugambiÓ
7. Chico Mann ÒSound Is EverythingÓ (Rich Medina Remix)
8. Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestroes ÒEkassa 22 (Dolelezi)Ó
9. Azuka Of Afrika ÒWe Don TireÓ
10. The Daktaris ÒMusicawi SiltÓ
11. Soul Ascendants ÒTributeÓ
12. Blaze Production present James Toney Jr. Project ÒRevolution PoemÓ

— CD 2 —
1. Rob Swift feat. Bob James & D-Styles ÒSalsa ScratchÓ
2. Grupo X ÒSunshineÓ
3. Big Bang ÒTo The Full Every MinuteÓ
4. Setenta Funky Tumbao
5. Louie Vega feat. Blaze & Raul Midon Sunshine (Sacred Rhythm Mix)
6. Reel People feat. Jag ÒSecond GuessÓ (Da Lata Remix)
7. The Quantic Soul Orchestra feat. Noelle Scaggs Lead Us To The End
8. Nickodemus feat. Sammy Ayala & The Candela All Ðstars Con-migo
9. Saravah Soul ÒSupersossegoÓ (Instrumental Version)
10. Tequila ÒSomeone To LoveÓ
11. Totin ÒRumba CulturaÓ
12. Elenita Ruiz con Conjunto ÒYa Nada Me ImportaÓ
[extract pt.2&3 before pt.1]

Mulatu Astatke – Ethio Jazz Vol.1 (2006)


01 – Kasalefkut Hulu
02 – Yelib Lay Esat
03 – Mulatu
04 – Yekermo Sew
05 – Chiferra
06 – E Bola
07 – Kulun
08 – Tsome Diguwa
09 – Wolayita
10 – Yekatit
11 – Munaye
12 – Mulatu’s Mood

Mulatu Astatke – Mulatu Of Ethiopia (1972)


01. Mulatu
02. Mascaram Setaba
03. Dewel
04. Kulunmanqueleshi
05. Kasalefkut-Hulu
06. Munaye
07. Chifara

Mulatu Astatke – New York – Addis – London (The Story Of Ethio-Jazz 1965-1975) (2009)

Compilation by Miles Cleret at Soundway Records

1. Yèkèrmo Sèw
2. I Faram Gami I Faram
3. Emnete
4. Mulatu
01. Yèkèrmo Sèw
02. I Faram Gami I Faram
03. Emnete
04. Mulatu
05. Fikratchin with Menelik Wossenatchew
06. Yègellé Tezeta
07. Asiyo Bellema feat. Frank Holder & Niaaza Alsherif
08. Girl From Addis Ababa
09. Lanchi Biye with Tilahun Gessesse
10. Yefikir Tizita
11. Yèkatit
12. Ebo Lala with Seifu Yohannes
13. Wubit with Muluken Melesse
14. Shagu
15. Dèwèl
16. Nétsanét
17. Kasalèfkut Hulu
18. Mascaram Setaba
19. Ené Alantchie Alnorem
20. Tezeta

Hailu Mergia & The Walias with Mulatu Astatke – Tche Belew (1977)


1.Tche Belew
2. Yemiasleks Fikir
3. Yikirta Lemminalehu
4. Musical Silt
5. Lomi Tera-tera
6. Woghenei
7. Ibakish Tarekigne
8. Birukane
9. Eti Gual Blenai
10. Yenuro Tesfa Alegne