Archive for the ‘ AFROBEAT ’ Category

Menahan Street Band – The Wolf BW Bushwick Lullaby (7” Vinyl) (2009)


01. The Wolf
02. Bushwick Lullaby

Menahan Street Band – Make The Road By Walking (Amazon, iTunes & Napster Bonus Tracks) (2008)

Bonus tracks from Amazon, iTunes and Napster digital release of the 2008 highly acclaimed album “Make The Road By Walking”
01. Dust To Dust
01. Eyes On The Prize

Chopteeth Afrofunk Big Band – Chopteeth (2008)

A dozen-plus musicians worth of original Afrobeat, Highlife and vintage West Afican funk: guaranteed to cure what ails you.

01. Struggle
02. Weigh Your Blessings
03. Upendo
04. Sneak Eyes
05. Dog Days
06. Wili Nineh
07. Herky Jerk
08. Eyi Su Ngaangaa
09. Fogo Fogo
10. No Condition Is Permanent

Daptone 7 Inch Singles Collection Vol.1&2 (2006-2008)

1. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings -Got A Thing On My Mind, Pt. 1
2. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings -Got A Thing On My Mind, Pt. 2
3. Lee Fields & the Dap-Kings -Give Me A Chance, Pt. 1
4. Lee Fields & the Dap-Kings -Give Me A Chance, Pt. 2
5. The Sugarman 3 -Funky So-and-So, Pt.1
6. The Sugarman 3 -Funky So-and-So, Pt. 2
7. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings -Make It Good To Me
8. The Dap-Kings -Casella Walk
9. Charles Bradley and Sugarman & Co. -Take It As It Come Pt. 1
10. Charles Bradley and Sugarman & Co. -Take it… Pt. 2
11. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings -Got To Be The Way It Is, Pt.2
12. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings -Got To Be The Way It Is, Pt.2
13. Naomi Davis -Promised Land, Pt. 1
14. The Sugarman 3 -Promised Land (Instrumental)
15. The Company -La Culebra, Pt. 1
16. The Company -La Culebra, Pt. 2
17. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings -What Have You Done For Me Lately? Pt. 1
18. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings -What Have You Done For Me Lately? Pt. 2
1. The Matador – The Mighty Imperials
2. Now That I’m Gone – Charles Bradley & The Bullets
3. Can’t Stop Thinking About You – Charles Bradley
4. Could Have Been – Lee Fields
5. You Don’t Know What You Mean (To a Lover Like Me) – Lee Fields and The Sugarman 3
6. How Long Do I Have To Wait For You (Instr.) – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
7. This Love Ain’t Big Enough for the Two of Us – Charles Bradley & The Bullets
8. (She’s Got) Twilight Eyes – Charles Bradley & The Bullets
9. I Just Dropped In to See What Condition My Condition Is In – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
10. Stand Up – Lee Fields and The Sugarman 3
11. Stand Up Pt. II – Lee Fields and Sugarman 3
12. Nervous like me – The Dap-Kings
13. Che Che Cole – Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra

Buy both @ Itunes or Emusic

Pax Nicholas And The Nettey Family – Na Teef Know De Road Of Teef (2009 Reissue) (1973)

Remastered release from 1973 album

01. Na Teef Know De Road Of Teef
02. Ataa Onukpa
03. Na Six Feet
04. You

Rich Medina & Bobbito present The Connection Vol.1 (WEB) (2009)

The Connection: Modern Explorations In Afro-Beat & Afro- Latin is the vision of Rich Medina and Bobbito Garcia. The two are considered amongst the worldÃ?s most progressive club DJs, having provided Hip Hop, Dance, and Rare Groove to dancers for 40+ years combined.

In the last decade, they have each fostered intense followings for specific genres and sounds. In Big Richs case, its been Afro Beat/Funk/Jazz and World Soul. The multi-talented poet/producer/songwriters eight-year-old JUMP N FUNK Fela Kuti Tribute Party is widely recognized as the very best of its kind, as he has at times carried that movement on his back and been largely responsible for the current revival of the original Black President. Similarly, Hip Hop radio legend and former Vibe Magazine columnist Kool Bob Loves mission has been to expose rare Latin Jazz/Funk/Soul/Breaks at his award-winning VINYL IS FOREVER monthly at APT (NYC), as well as at the bi-coastal FANIA RECORDS TRIBUTE annual gigs.

Close friends since 1990, Rich and Bob started spinning together in 97, and have branded their musical journeys at their HAPPY FEET party to the great pleasure of crowds worldwide. An inspired competition exists between them to outdo the other by introducing underexposed tunes. The Connection allows for others to share that joy that goes on in their DJ booth. This compilation represents their passion for the rhythm that runs through us all, as well as the respect and love they have for each other. We hope that it connects you to your ancestors, or maybe just neighbors across the street, and way beyond


R2 RECORDS. 2009…

– CD 1 –
1. AIFF ÒLet It RollÓ
2. Ruth Tafebe And The Afrorockerz ÒCelebrateÓ
3. Fanga ÒKelenÓ
4. Franck Biyong & The Afrolectric Orkestra feat. Melissa James ÒWe Shall OvercomeÓ
5. Raw Artistic Soul feat. Wunmi ÒOya OÓ
6. Souljazz Orchestra ÒMugambiÓ
7. Chico Mann ÒSound Is EverythingÓ (Rich Medina Remix)
8. Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestroes ÒEkassa 22 (Dolelezi)Ó
9. Azuka Of Afrika ÒWe Don TireÓ
10. The Daktaris ÒMusicawi SiltÓ
11. Soul Ascendants ÒTributeÓ
12. Blaze Production present James Toney Jr. Project ÒRevolution PoemÓ

— CD 2 —
1. Rob Swift feat. Bob James & D-Styles ÒSalsa ScratchÓ
2. Grupo X ÒSunshineÓ
3. Big Bang ÒTo The Full Every MinuteÓ
4. Setenta Funky Tumbao
5. Louie Vega feat. Blaze & Raul Midon Sunshine (Sacred Rhythm Mix)
6. Reel People feat. Jag ÒSecond GuessÓ (Da Lata Remix)
7. The Quantic Soul Orchestra feat. Noelle Scaggs Lead Us To The End
8. Nickodemus feat. Sammy Ayala & The Candela All Ðstars Con-migo
9. Saravah Soul ÒSupersossegoÓ (Instrumental Version)
10. Tequila ÒSomeone To LoveÓ
11. Totin ÒRumba CulturaÓ
12. Elenita Ruiz con Conjunto ÒYa Nada Me ImportaÓ
[extract pt.2&3 before pt.1]

Mr. Something Something – Shine Your Face (2009)

New Mr.Something Something album
From way out in left field comes this superb release, their fourth, spreading wide the gates of listener-friendly world music, but based out of Toronto, Canada. From a first listen, it grabs you with its busy rhythmic pulse and stop-on-a-dime horn section, blending African and Western musics.

01 – The Antidote
02 – Only The Maker
03 – Make Your Mind
04 – Why Why Why
05 – City Of Sand
06 – Through The Dirt
07 – What Are You Waiting For?
08 – Make Your Mind Part II